What I need from you, Character.

Okay, Monkey is entertained so maybe I can get a few thoughts in. I love my daughter, I really do. But Daddy is out of town and Mommy is sick, so she’s bored and we’re wearing on each others nerves. That being said, let’s talk about books.

I’m currently reading book 2 in Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series, The Good, The Bad, and The Undead. I really can’t decide if I like these books or not. I’m having a hard time really getting behind Rachel. I guess I need to feel like I’d be friends with them in real life, and she doesn’t seem to laugh at much. But I am really interested in the world Harrison has created. I hope I get to find out more about being a living vampire entails and all kinds of stuff about the pixies, whom I love. I guess we’ll see. Feel free to add comments about this series if you’ve read it.

Wow… Monkey is actually giving me more time. Okay, let’s see. More on books. Are there any books that you love but can’t believe you do? For instance, I love the Game of Thrones series by George R.R. Martin, but neither me or my husband can figure out why. Often mid-book, we look at each other and ask, “Why do I read these?” Because, honestly, nothing good ever happens. Any little bit of happiness you find is snatched away. I think it must be the characters he writes. They have so much depth, so many facets to their personalities that you can’t help empathize with almost everyone. (I say almost, because there are still some bastards you’d gladly kill yourself.)

And then there are the characters that don’t have to have tons and tons of complexity, but are great enough that you’ll read their books over and over, or other series that are basically the same situation, and just more of the same people. I think of David and Leigh Eddings’ series The Belgariad and The Mallorean. There’s not much of a difference in what happens as a whole between the two sets of books, but I’ll read more Belgarath, Ce’Nedra, Pol, Durnik, and Silk any day. Can they just have drinks one night for a little novella? Please??

I think I’ve pushed my free time limit about as far as Monkey will allow tonight. Comment and tell me your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

