Yes, I’m a girl, and I like RPG video games.

I’m not ashamed. Before I met my husband, I hadn’t picked up a video game controller since the original Mario. But when your husband works for one (if not the) largest video game retailer in the U.S., well, you just can’t escape it. And you know what? I’m glad I didn’t. I am in love with Ubisoft’s Assassin’s Creed series; I will watch any related movie, read articles and blogs, catch the E3 Ubisoft presentation on G4, and play every single one of those games. Not only that, but I will beat them; I will stay up till ungodly hours, neglect my writing, (I know, I know. But they’re so good!) and curse like a sailor until my husband comes to check on me and make sure I didn’t accidentally cut off my finger, or delete an entire photo album from our computer.

I’m even worse with Bioware. You could put that stuff straight into my veins and it still wouldn’t be enough. I hate to say it, but I was more excited about the release of Dragon Age 2 this year than planning the Monkey’s second birthday party. (Let me clarify: I was more excited about the game than planning the party, not celebrating the second anniversary of the birth of our first child.) I play these games until I know every nook and cranny, every side quest, every Easter egg, every everything. Then I beat my husband down until he tries them, and stare at him in wonder when he doesn’t think they’re as great as I do. Heathen.

The Hubs does have redeeming qualities, though. For instance, he loves me, and he knows how much I love Bioware. So at the Store Managers Conference this week, he sent me this picture:

This is him with two of the Bioware Project Leads for their upcoming games, Mass Effect 3 and Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic. And it is awesome. I told him to go back and get them to friend me on Facebook, but I’m not sure if it’s going to happen. He is supposed to be working after all.

Still, thank you, Handsome Husband.

Leave a Reply

