Once Upon a Time to Decide

Has anyone else watched the new ABC series, Once Upon a Time? I’m of two minds about it and I’d like to hear your thoughts.

What I like:

I was originally enticed by someone affiliated with Lost being involved, because let’s face it — that show was EPIC. I’m also a big fan of classic fairy tales being remade. I think there is so much potential there, although it has to be intimidating to alter something so universally loved, (which is why I don’t think I’ll ever do it.) There have been some good parts in the show that caused me to laugh out loud, the first one that comes to mind, and best I think, is when Emma cut’s down the mayor’s apple tree. (If you haven’t seen it, you won’t get it, but it’s a freaking great moment because someone is finally fighting dirty with a fairy tale villain.) The cast is attractive, and the artistic scope is very well done. Oh! And Pam from Trueblood is in it!! I love me some Pam!

What concerns me:

Firstly, there is, inevitably, some cheesy-ness. If Prince Charming gets a real name, (James,) then so does Snow White. I cannot keep a straight face when someone says, “Snow,” to begin a conversation. I don’t know how much of that is necessary because these stories were originally made for children. Secondly, I’m getting the disturbing feeling that, no matter how much I like this series, it isn’t going to last. How many times can Emma and the Queen try to one up each other before it becomes stale? If we’re already waking up Charming and Snow White three episodes in, how long is it going to take for the rest of the town. And then what?I appreciate that they are mixing in the “true” story of the classic tales, but longevity does not seem to be the name of the game.

So these are my thoughts. I’d love to hear yours if you’re a fan, or even if you hate it — as long as you can intelligently explain it. “It sucks because fairy tales are super gay,” doesn’t suffice. ; >

Happy reading, happy writing, and enjoy occasional TV breaks.

Leave a Reply

