Question of the Day: What’s your food issue?

I was reading an article on Jezebel today about finickiness in regards to food. These days, it seems like everyone has something they refuse to eat. Vegetarians, Vegans, and Raw Foodies, well… this is what we expect from you. But then there are the other weirdos, like myself.

For the most part, I don’t want my food to touch. If it wasn’t part of the recipe, I don’t want it in there. Exceptions are made for, lets say, dipping chicken into gravy and mashed potatoes, (Keller ISD kids, you know what I’m talking about,) or beans and Mexican rice. But for the most part, sectioned plates are the greatest thing ever.

To take it a step further, I have a “Sweet & Meat” rule, which should be called sweet & savory. The two never shall meet. Pork and apples, no. Turkey and cranberry sauce, no. Garden type salads with fruit, no. The only exception I can think of for this one is the awesomeness of the Monte Cristo sandwich, but they’re hard to come by and will probably kill you.

As if that wasn’t enough, I also eat things in a specific order. I didn’t realize it until a co-worker called me on it because he did the same thing. Least favorite to most favorite, normally with meat being the last thing eaten.

I have no idea why I do these things. Maybe it has to do with how I was introduced to food, although my mom tells me she mixed everything. Maybe I really hated that, who knows?

My husband refuses to eat cream cheese, butter, sour cream, cottage cheese, any vegetable he has to lean over and pick up off the ground excluding potatoes, cold tomatoes, and would rather have a hot dog instead of steak. My kiddo, even worse.

So you’re not alone. Now tell me what hangups you have with food, so I feel better! ; >

One response to “Question of the Day: What’s your food issue?

  1. Pingback: My Neurotic Pug and my Two Year Old Puppy | writerreese

Leave a Reply

