Sin Eater Review 1.2

Wow. Nothing like a good author, (or pair of authors,) to make you hate a character. And, oh do I hate.

On the upside, the aforementioned ass-hat will make you sympathize with the main characters, so I guess it all works out.

Epidoe 2 was straight back into the action, once again having me reading it all in the span of a toddler nap. (For those of you who’re parents, you know what kind of time frame I’m talking about. Brief, precious, and glorious.) The writing was once again stellar, with only one possible typo. Admittedly I couldn’t tell if the phrase was repeated for emphasis or missed in editing; the more I think about it, probably the former. There are more points of view, and I love meeting new characters. Given the serial format, I would say it’s just enough; too many more and things would get crowded, but we’re safe for now.

One of the really wonderful things I’m noticing as I go through these episodes is the attention to unspoken backstory. Not all of it has been explained yet, and it may not be, but you can tell that the authors know. West and Tyler put a ton of thought into this world, and as a reader, I appreciate not having to make huge logical leaps. I just get to sit back and enjoy the ride.

As of this posting, you can purchase episode 1, episode 2, episode 3, and episode 4, simply by clicking on the episode you want, or click here to pre-order the entire season. You can learn more about author Jessica West here, and more about author PK Tyler here. Stay tuned for each episode’s review!

Leave a Reply

