Tick-tock says the NaNo Clock

Sunday you guys. Sunday.

Freaked out yet? I’m getting there. One of the few things that keeps me from spending hours breathing into a paper is the knowledge that I have a support system. It’s a two-tiered kind of thing.

First I have my writer friends, many of whom are also eyeing paper bags right now. That’s why I suggested getting on the NaNo site and finding some buddies. I hate that there aren’t real names on there, so I’m working around it. But even if I don’t find them there, I have wonderful people in my corner, cheering me on and passing the wine, (metaphorically speaking.) I might even introduce you to some of them. 😉

Secondly, I have resources. And because I love you, dear followers, I’m going to share them with you.

  • fictionuFiction UniversityJanice Hardy’s blog is one of my favorites for straight writing advice. She also has revising, querying, and marketing advice, but I go for the writing parts. In the left sidebar of her blog, there’s basically a topic for any problem you could run into with multiple articles and solutions for you to try. Every year she posts a NaNo series, all about planning for this marathon we’re about to do. She also has a book out called Planning Your Novel: Ideas and Structure. You remember what I said about planning and Nano, right? This is where it’s at. I’ve bought the book, and highly recommend it of you’re going to NaNo. Even if you’re looking in an ebook, you aren’t getting sidetracked on a blog or falling down a Google wormhole. You need to write 1,700 words today.
  • middlecoverWrite Your Novel From The Middle: A new approach for Plotters, Pantsers, and everyone in between. I know I’ve posted about this before, but this eBook is one of the best $3 I’ve ever spent. In fact, now that I think about it, I’m going back to re-read it and see how my NaNo outline matches up. I won’t regurgitate the original post, but I truly feel like it’s something quick and easy (93 pages) you use to make sure all your plot points are where they should be.
  • cowdencoverTammi Cowden, et al and her Archetypes. I’ve actually bought two of their books, one on Heroes and Heroines, and one on Villains. If a character is feeling a little flat to me, I pop one of these open and find them. The authors give great examples of the most common character archetypes from both books and films. Then I can combine or pair down as much as I like until the character fits my current story. If somebody important in your manuscript gets lost along the way, these books are how you go back to look for them.
  • kristenlambcoverKristen Lamb’s Blog. WANA Mama and Social Media Yoda, I love this lady. She has a great series on her blog right now for NaNo, and has been in the trenches in years prior. When she’s not dolling out the writing advice, she’s the ring leader of a MASSIVE writer’s support group known as WANA, (We Are Not Alone.) And if that’s not awesome enough, she has an excellent social media marketing book out, Rise of the Machines: Human Authors in a Digital World, that will help you make legitimate connections to your readers… something you need to think about once we finish that beauty of a novel next month. (Kristen is literally 80% of my motivation for blogging. And, as difficult as it is for me, Yoda knows what she’s talking about.)
  • Novel-Publicity-Button (1)Novel Publicity. This is the very first blog I found on that long ago night when I decided to publish my book. Through the years, I’ve been thrilled to see Melissa Storm’s company grow into what it is today. This blog has the best of both worlds: there’s marketing, editing, and design services for those with the budget and free advice on how to do it on your own for those who don’t. They constantly feature different authors on their Writer’s Advice Blog for when you need someone to point you in the right direction, and Publishing and Marketing advice once’s your book is ready to go. They’ve also come out with books to help you get in the right frame of mind, build a brand, and what to do when tax season arrives, all totally affordable. And, like Kristen, Melissa is both approachable and supportive, another one of those writer friends in my corner.

So I hope this helps. I will be scheduling posts for the month of November ahead of time, because… um… Nano, but I still plan on checking in once a week to offer encouragement, support, and commiseration.

What is your favorite writing resource? What have I been missing out on? Tell me in the comments! I love to hear from you!

Also, please check back in December as I will be starting my Featured Writers series. I’ll introduce you to Melissa and Kristen, as well as many other authors I’m beyond privileged to know! Now then…

lets do this

Leave a Reply

